CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

MAX127 and I2C

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eastvoltresearch



Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 3

View user's profile Send private message

MAX127 and I2C
PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2004 7:31 pm     Reply with quote

Anyone else here have experience with accessing the MAX127 A/D Converter via I2C. I'm about ready to throw this damn thing out the window. Can't get it to talk correctly with my PIC16C76 via I2C.

Have no problems with other i2C devices, just this one.

Dan
gyork
Guest







MAX127 and I2C
PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 7:30 pm     Reply with quote

This is code I used to figure out the MAX128 wich is similar to the 127.
Hope it helps


void main() {
int16 atod,result;
int8 result1,result2,i;

setup_adc_ports(NO_ANALOGS);
setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_DIV_2);
setup_spi(FALSE);
setup_psp(PSP_DISABLED);
setup_counters(RTCC_INTERNAL,RTCC_DIV_2);
setup_timer_1(T1_DISABLED);
setup_timer_2(T2_DISABLED,0,1);
setup_ccp1(CCP_OFF);
setup_ccp2(CCP_OFF);
printf("initiating max128\r\n");

//setup i2c

output_float(PIN_C3);
output_float(PIN_C4);

while (1){
//setup max128 to read channel 0
i2c_start();
i2c_write(0b01010000); //channel 0 0 to 4096 mV
i2c_write(0xF8); // send configuration bit
i2c_stop(); // start conversion

//read result from max128

i2c_start();
i2c_write(0b01010001); // send address to chip to begin read
result1 = i2c_read(); // get high byte of 12bit result
result2 = i2c_read(0);
i2c_stop(); // get low nibble of 12bit result

//convert to 16bit result
result = result1;
result = (result << 4 )+ (result2 >> 4); // combine into 16 bit result first four bits are 0s

printf("%ld\r\n",result); //debug
delay_ms(250);
}

}
eastvoltresearch



Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 3

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 8:24 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks for the code. I actually did figure out my problem after about 3 hours of scoping the waveforms etc...

Turns out i had a very stupid error. On one of my i2c_write commands, I had a an address marked 0x01010000 instead of 0b0101000.

Figures it would be something stupid.

dan
AK
Guest







PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 8:59 am     Reply with quote

I am also starting a project and I would like to use the MAX127. How has this chip worked for you so far. Any problems? Could you post sample code for communicating with the chip?
MIGHTymouse
Guest







similar problem
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 6:32 am     Reply with quote

Hi!

I'm also (trying) to connect a 16f876a to a max127.
I usel a code similar to yours
Code:

void initI2C(){
   output_float(SCL_C3);
   output_float(SDA_C4);
}


void writeI2C(INT16 comand){
      i2c_start();                  // Start condition
   i2c_write(add_ADC);      // Address
   i2c_write(comand);      // send configuration bit
   i2c_stop();      // Stop condition
}

INT16 readI2C(){
   BYTE b1=0, b2=0;
   i2c_start();                      // "restart" condition
   i2c_write((end_ADC | 0x01));    // address + R/W
   b1 = i2c_read(1);         // read 1ºbyte
   b2 = i2c_read(0);          // read 2ºbyte
   i2c_stop();             // Stop condition
   return make16(b2, b1);
}

int16 getdata(){
   unsigned int16 value;
   unsigned int16 comando=0x80; //0xf8 //08  ou 80
   valor=0;
   writeI2C(comand);
      delay_us(8);
   value=readI2C();
   return value;
}


But although i'm communicating (or at least it doesn's blocks), i'm not reading nothing but '1's. (65535).

Arrow Is it supposed to define the frequency or something?
Arrow is there a way to assure the max 127 is functioning right?
David Moussa
Guest







MAX127 and I2C
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:56 pm     Reply with quote

I'm also trying to use a MAX127 but the problem is I'm just reading
0s from the max127 regardless of the voltage level on the channels.
Is there something significant about this 0 or is it not working at all

cheers
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 8:32 pm     Reply with quote

Post a complete test program. It should have the #include for the PIC,
#fuses, #use delay() and #use i2c() statements. It should have a
main(), and it should display the results of the test on a serial terminal
window on your PC. It should compile with no errors.

Don't include a lot of useless Wizard code that disables the Timers,
and other peripherals that are already disabled on power-up anyway.
Just delete those lines before you compile and test your program.

Also post your compiler version.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group